Home > session report > Blokus with two

Blokus with two

October 27, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

S and I just played the two-player version of Blokus, which we had never done before, and it was lots of fun. Blokus with two is a very different game from Blokus with either three or four, and in many ways I liked it better. There’s way more strategy, more tactics, and no politics at all. I guess I’m not too crazy about Blokus with three, though it is fun when you can use the fourth color to your advantage, but I love the politics in the four-player version. It’s quiet, it’s subtle, often people don’t even say anything — but if you lose the political game, you’re done for.

I think that’s how it goes in most games: you get more strategy with two, more politics with four. Both are good.

  1. October 30, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Yes, I quite like this game. Though I will admit I’m terrible at it. I agree with you about the politics comment. I have never tried the three-player since it doesn’t really look appealing. If I end up buying this, I will only bring it out with 2 or 4 players.

    • October 30, 2010 at 9:35 pm

      I used to be awful at Blokus until one of the clerks at a now-defunct local game store gave me some pointers. You probably already know this, but the main trick is not to try to block folks out of a given area (which is nearly impossible), but rather to try to infiltrate their territory (which is much easier). Even if you do block folks out of your area, you only gain one or two plays, whereas if you manage to get into their space, you can really go to town. Of course, if there’s a good and easy way to completely shut someone out of a corner, by all means you should do it.

      When infiltrating “enemy” territory, the most reliable way is to play so that the corner of your piece lies right next to the corner of their piece — that way, it’s not so easy for them to try to shut you down (since they can’t play right next to their own piece).

      The other thing she said was to try to give yourself as many corners to work off of as possible, especially in the early game. This does seem to help a bit, though I’m a bit less confident in the wisdom of this advice. It’s nice when folks are trying to encroach on your space, as it gives you more options, but I think the real key is working out how best to flow between the blocks of other players.

      Of course playing first in areas that are likely to be hotly contested can’t hurt, either. =^..^=

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

