Home > general > Christmas wish list….

Christmas wish list….

December 2, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s that time of year again, and gamers all over the world are putting together their Christmas wish-lists (if they haven’t done so already). Mine follows, in no particular order.

For Sale. I’ve heard it’s a great filler.
Hive. This one has been on my radar for some time, now.
Incan Gold. I love push-your-luck games, and who can resist a treasure-hunting adventure?
Lascaux
. I had the chance to get this for $6 once, and I’ve been kicking myself ever since. I really want to try it just for the bidding mechanic.
Masons. I really like Clans, and I want to try more Colovini. I’m also tempted by The Bridges of Shangri-La.
Container. I’m intrigued by its economic system. I don’t know of any other game where the engine can collapse, just like in real life.
Goa. Hey, I can dream, can’t I?
Power Grid. I’m a little lukewarm on this one, as I’m not sure I’d like it. But I’d sure like to try it.
Terra Nova. I like abstracts with just a touch of theme.
Biblios. Everything I’ve read suggests this game is fantastic.
K2. It’s a bit spendy yet, but it definitely looks interesting. For some reason it reminds me of Pandemic – maybe because you’re competing, at least in part, with the game itself.
Hey, That’s My Fish. Another abstract with just a touch of theme. Simple to learn, different every time, doesn’t take forever, and tricky to play well.

What’s on your wish list?

  1. December 3, 2010 at 12:01 am

    For Sale is a great filler, and I usually don’t like auction games. Hive is a great game, the perfect alternative to chess. Incan Gold is my favorite PYL game. Masons is interesting, though pretty dry – you can try it out on yucata.de if you want to see how it plays. Power Grid is actually an immensely entertaining game – I was a little surprised myself at how much I liked it. Hey That’s My Fish is a really deep abstract with a theme that will appeal to lost of people. I haven’t played the others.

    -Jesse

  2. December 3, 2010 at 12:44 am

    Thanks for the input — I’d heard Masons was dry, but somehow I’m still inclined to give it a go. I thought Clans was quite clever (though one or two of the rules was a little fussy), and I really liked how you didn’t know which color was whose until the very end. In general I like games like this, where there’s a strong spatial element and at least a hint of theme. I’m really looking forward to trying Hey, That’s My Fish!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

