Home > board games, general > top games of 2010, 2011

top games of 2010, 2011

December 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Okay, so I got curious — what are the most popular games (on BGG, of course) from 2010 and 2011?  Mainly I was interested in seeing if I missed anything that looked promising.  I don’t tend to be an “early adopter,” and I don’t keep track of all the latest games as they come out, so it’s easy for good games to get by me.

Here’s a link to the most popular games on BGG that were published in 2010 and 2011.  For those who keep up better than I do, here’s the most popular games on BGG from 2011 only.

Most popular is fine, but what about highest ranked?  Here are the highest-ranked games published in 2010 and 2011.  And here are the highest-ranked games from 2011 only.

Of course a little URL hacking can get you the highest-ranked (or the most popular) games from 2009, 2008, &c.

Scanning down these lists, I really ought to read more about A Few Acres of SnowLetters from Whitechapel, Airlines Europe, and Strasbourg (all from 2011).  Also, from 2010, I should probably take another look at Sid Meier’s Civilization: The Board Game, Troyes, and Merchants & Marauders.  And finally, I really need to get around to trying my friend’s copies of Kingdom Builder and Panic Station.

  1. December 14, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Letters from Whitechaple is suppose to be very good. Here is GameChris’s Review.
    http://gamerchris.com/2011/12/13/review—letters-from-whitechapel.aspx

    Airline Europe is on my short list of games to play, maybe tomorrow (fingers crossed). Panic Station is another on my Short List, but I dont know much about it I just hear its good.

    Sid Meier’s Civilization was a painfully long and complicated mess that I didn’t enjoy, but I know a lot of other people are.

    I also just picked up Mansion of Madness Alien Frontiers, and Blood Bowl: Team Manager, all for 50% off. Very sweet deal!

    I can also recommend Merchants and Marauders. This is basically Sid Meier’s Pirates done as a Board Game. Great fun!

  2. December 14, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Where did you get Alien Frontiers for 50% off? A friend of mine (same friend) has that one, and I like it. The one time I played it with two was a little strange, but with four it was very interesting.

  3. December 14, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Airlines Europe is a huge hit at our house. Great with 2 or 3 and I hear 4 is good, too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

