Home > board games, general > Core Games 2014

Core Games 2014

November 23, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I was looking through some of my BGG bookmarks recently, and I came across the link to this, the core games of 2008.  And of course it got me to wondering what this list would look like in 2014.  I did several different searches on BGG, but I wasn’t able to come up with anything.  So I decided to create the list myself.

I used Tony Ackroyd‘s methodology, or something close to it:  to be in the core games list, a game has to be ranked in the top 100 games, has to be in the top 100 owned games, and has to be in the top 100 played games.  When looking at the top played games, he only counted plays by distinct users, so I did the same.  I decided to look at all the plays in 2014, from January 1 to now.

First, I pulled up the top ranked games, then the top owned games, and finally the top played games.  Then a little magic in LibreOffice Calc, and here they are:  the core games of 2014.

How does this compare to the list from 2008?  It’s quite a bit different, really.  Of the 27 games on this list, and the 38 games on the list from 2008, there are only 7 games that are on both:  Twilight Struggle, Agricola, Puerto Rico, Power Grid, Race for the Galaxy, Ticket to Ride: Europe, and Ticket to Ride.  Might be good to check those out, if you haven’t already.  :-)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

